LokVox

TrackerBudget 2026-27

Budget 2026-27 promise tracker: what has happened eight months on

We are tracking 25 promises from the Union Budget presented on 1 February 2026. Three have been formally delivered, five are in progress and for 17 we found no reliable update.

From the editorial deskPublished

The Union Budget for 2026-27, presented by Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on 1 February 2026, made dozens of commitments, from a lower fiscal deficit to new schemes for semiconductors, small businesses and high-speed rail. This tracker follows 25 of them, each tied to the paragraph of the Budget speech or the Budget document where it appears.

As of 11 October 2026, three promises have been formally delivered: the Income Tax Act, 2025 is in force, the Cabinet has approved India Semiconductor Mission 2.0, and the Cabinet has approved the ₹10,000 crore SME Growth Fund. Five are in progress, including the headline fiscal deficit target of 4.3% of GDP, which ICRA expects to be missed by ₹1.3 to 1.4 lakh crore.

For 17 promises we found no reliable update. We will add updates as ministries and other reliable sources publish them. We also include one check on the previous Budget: the 2025-26 fiscal deficit target of 4.4% was met.

25Budget 2026-27 promises
3Delivered
5In progress
17No update found

Bring the fiscal deficit down to 4.3% of GDP (₹16,95,768 crore) in 2026-27, from 4.4% in 2025-26.

Fiscal · Finance · Para 94

By end-August 2026 the deficit was ₹7,10,249 crore, 41.9% of the Budget Estimate, against 38.1% a year earlier. ICRA expects an overshoot of ₹1.3 to 1.4 lakh crore because of a tax shortfall and extra fuel and fertiliser subsidies.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Ministry of Finance (Budget at a Glance 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · UNI, 30 Sep 2026 · Deccan Chronicle, 30 Sep 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

In progress

Raise capital expenditure to ₹12.2 lakh crore in 2026-27 (₹12,21,821 crore; effective capex ₹17,14,523 crore).

Infrastructure · Finance (all ministries) · Para 33

Capital spending was up 18% in April-August 2026 after a 60% rise in June-July, but fell 30% in August, according to ICRA's analysis of CGA data reported by Deccan Chronicle.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Ministry of Finance (Budget at a Glance 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Deccan Chronicle, 30 Sep 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

In progress

Gross tax revenue of ₹44.04 lakh crore, 8.0% above the 2025-26 Revised Estimate.

Tax · Finance (CBDT and CBIC) · Not in speech; Budget documents (PIB summary)

Gross tax revenue grew 6.5% in April-August 2026; excise collections fell 23% after the March cut in fuel duties (ICRA via Deccan Chronicle). ICRA expects income tax and excise to fall short of budgeted levels.

Sources: Press Information Bureau, 1 Feb 2026 · Deccan Chronicle, 30 Sep 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

In progress

Bring the Income Tax Act, 2025 into effect from 1 April 2026, replacing the 1961 Act.

Tax · Finance (CBDT) · Para 99

CBDT said the Act came into force on 1 April 2026. The Income-tax Rules, 2026 were notified on 20 March 2026, with new forms.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Central Board of Direct Taxes, 1 Apr 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

Delivered

Extend the time to revise income tax returns from 31 December to 31 March.

Tax · Finance (CBDT) · Para 108

No source was found confirming how the change has been applied.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

Launch India Semiconductor Mission (ISM) 2.0 to produce equipment and materials.

Industry · Electronics and IT · Para 17

The Union Cabinet approved ISM 2.0 with a total outlay of ₹1.27 lakh crore on 15 July 2026, IT Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw said (PTI). Projects under it were not tracked.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · PTI via ThePrint, 15 Jul 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

Delivered

Raise the outlay of the Electronics Components Manufacturing Scheme to ₹40,000 crore.

Industry · Electronics and IT · Para 18

No update found.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

Biopharma SHAKTI, with an outlay of ₹10,000 crore over five years, to build capacity in biologics and biosimilars.

Health and industry · Not stated in sources · Para 16

News On AIR described the initiative as proposed on 21 March 2026. No approval or launch was found after that.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · News On AIR, 21 Mar 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

Develop seven high-speed rail corridors between cities (Mumbai-Pune, Pune-Hyderabad, Hyderabad-Bengaluru, Hyderabad-Chennai, Chennai-Bengaluru, Delhi-Varanasi, Varanasi-Siliguri).

Infrastructure · Railways · Para 40

On 9 February 2026 Business Standard reported that the Railway Board had directed NHSRCL to update detailed project reports with current costs so financial viability could be assessed. No later update found.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Business Standard, 9 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

In progress

Set up dedicated Rare Earth Corridors in Odisha, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu.

Industry · Not stated in sources · Para 19

No update found.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

Carbon capture, utilisation and storage (CCUS): ₹20,000 crore over five years.

Environment and energy · Not stated in sources · Para 38

No update found.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

Container manufacturing scheme with ₹10,000 crore over five years.

Industry · Not stated in sources · Para 21(c)

No update found.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

A dedicated ₹10,000 crore SME Growth Fund.

Industry · MSME and Finance · Para 28

The Union Cabinet approved a government commitment of ₹10,000 crore to an Alternative Investment Fund under the SME Growth Fund on 6 October 2026. It will make direct equity investments, mainly in manufacturing SMEs. The fund's first investments have not been reported.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Press Information Bureau (Cabinet decisions), 6 Oct 2026 · The Hans India, 7 Oct 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

Delivered

Support states in setting up three dedicated Chemical Parks.

Industry · Chemicals and Fertilisers · Para 20

No update found.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

Fund the VB-G RAM G rural employment scheme (₹95,691 crore), which raises guaranteed work from 100 to 125 days a year with states paying a larger share.

Rural · Rural Development · Not located in speech text read; reported by Scroll

Outlook Money reported on 11 May 2026 that the Act replacing MGNREGA would take effect on 1 July 2026, guaranteeing 125 days of work with a 60:40 Centre-state split for most states, and that rules were still being drafted. Spending against the allocation and work generated since July were not found.

Sources: Scroll, 1 Feb 2026 · Outlook Money, 11 May 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

In progress

Operationalise 20 new National Waterways over five years, with a ship-repair ecosystem for inland waterways at Varanasi and Patna.

Infrastructure · Ports, Shipping and Waterways · Para 36(b)

No update found.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

New Dedicated Freight Corridor connecting Dankuni in the east to Surat in the west.

Infrastructure · Railways · Para 36(a)

No update found.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

Exempt basic customs duty on 17 drugs or medicines.

Health · Finance (CBIC) · Para 160; Annex C.1

Customs changes are made through Budget notifications; implementation was not separately verified.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

Cut customs duty on goods imported for personal use from 20% to 10%, effective 1 April 2026.

Tax · Finance (CBIC) · Para 159; Annex C.1

Effective date set in the Budget; implementation was not separately verified.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

Cut tax collected at source on overseas tour packages from 5% and 20% to a uniform 2%.

Tax · Finance (CBDT) · Para 103

Implementation was not separately verified.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

Launch a Khelo India Mission to transform the sports sector over the next decade.

Sports · Sports · Para 72

No update found.

Sources: Ministry of Finance (Budget Speech 2026-27), 1 Feb 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

No update found

Budget 2025-26: fiscal deficit of 4.4% of GDP in 2025-26.

From the previous Budget · Fiscal · Finance · Budget 2025-26

Met. Provisional accounts put the 2025-26 deficit at ₹15,19,169 crore, 4.4% of GDP and 97.5% of the Revised Estimate.

Sources: Deccan Herald, 1 Jun 2026 · Last checked 11 Oct 2026

Delivered

How to read it

Each promise carries one of three labels. “Delivered” means the measure has been formally put in place, such as a law in force or a scheme approved by the Cabinet; it does not mean the goal has been achieved. “In progress” means we found verified steps or in-year data. “No update found” means we could not find a reliable source on progress, which is different from saying nothing has happened.

Every entry gives the speech reference, the ministry, the date we last checked and the sources behind the progress note. We do not estimate progress or rely on unofficial claims.

Sources

Promises are taken from the Budget speech and Budget at a Glance on indiabudget.gov.in and PIB’s Budget highlights. Progress notes cite the source used for each: government releases where available (CBDT, PIB), otherwise news agencies and newspapers, named in each entry.

The documents